A Requiem for Dead Souls Among the Living

autumn-background-beauty-bench-favim-com-4814505
Image source: Favim

 

I thought I could smother

Those yearnings with quiet ease

So I resolved myself into a life of solitude

But the voices inside my heart

Want fireworks and shooting stars

They scream for supernovas and black holes

I cave in, signing a thousand death certificates

As little by little, I scatter a piece of my soul

And with every love found and lost

With every hello and goodbye

I watch them wither like autumn leaves

16 thoughts on “A Requiem for Dead Souls Among the Living

  1. Love the poem – you’ve got real poise!
    I have just had my first book of poetry published, Prism – an anthology
    Visit sensualism.me and you’ll see all the details – on sale now
    A little book of poetry would make a great gift this Christmas
    Take care, O. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

