Living and Existing

From the brilliant mind of Rabindranath Tagore:

17TH-OPEDTAGORE1_358123e.jpg
www.thehindu.com

That I exist is a perpetual surprise which is life.

Short and precise, this quote sums up my daily musings. I know I’m only 24, and it’s quite early to have an existential crisis. Heaven forbid. But what Tagore said mirrors what I feel every morning – the perpetual, sometimes pleasant, realisation that I exist. And I acknowledge that there is a world of difference between living and existing.

Which one are you doing?

22 thoughts on “Living and Existing

  1. Smash the mirror: it’s a lie what you tell yourself, the world is invisible and waiting. Let the darkness seep in and envelop you. The world of light you see around you is but the flotsam on a sea of energy that seeks its daemonic day in the sun. Enter your melancholia as if it were your lover, and like a lover savor its dark passion then like a mantis slay it, be done with it, and eat it alive till there is no melancholy left but only the power of your dread life. Think on Kali-Durga, an image of the fierce life of creative destruction that is this universe: a poetic icon of all that exists in its most monstrous form. Seek out the graveyards of time, sit on the headstones of forgotten masters, laugh at the impossibility of your life. Then enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love reading this, especially this part:
      “Seek out the graveyards of time, sit on the headstones of forgotten masters, laugh at the impossibility of your life.”

      Thank you for sharing. 🙂

      Like

  2. Really great quote…something to make us think. What am I doing? Sadly I find that I am existing. Oh, there are moments where I live but, for the most part, I just exist getting through the day to day routine of things that need to be done. Perhaps it is the winter blahs that have a hold on me because I truly come alive in the summer. My soul sings and dances and I bounce out of bed ready to grab life with gusto. Thanks for bringing this thought to mind…we all need a little reminder now and then to truly live because we pass by this way just once. =)

    Like

    1. I cannot relate to the winter part but everything else I also experience. It is truly hard to make the conscious effort to live. Sommetimes it feels like we’re simply gliding from day to day. I love summers too. It’s practically summer the whole year round from where I am, except on rainy days. During those times, I feel lethargic and melancholic. And yes, we need little reminders like this to actually live. We won’t pass the same way again. Thank you for sharing such great thoughts, Susan. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh how I wish we didn’t see winter here. I don’t even mind the rain most times although I think that might change if I lived where you are…I would get spoiled by the sun and the rain would be like the snow is here, something to interrupt the weather I truly want. You are so welcome Mitch – I thoroughly enjoy your blog. =)

        Like

    1. I can only read those I find online. He was a gifted writer. I hope I can find his books in the local bookshops soon. Do you read him in the original? I just rely on the translated versions. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

