People and Flames

Eons ago, Owen-t nominated me for the 3 Day Quote Challenge. Since I was caught up with the hustle and bustle of the holiday season, I only get to check gazillions of notifications recently.

I know most of you are not really fond of challenges, nominations and the like. So I’m including this one in one of my categories. Feel free to join the fun if you want.

From the brilliant mind of Eduardo Galeano:

6a00d8341c575d53ef0148c7f2992c970c
Image source: Frontpage Mag

“Each person shines with his or her own light. No two flames are alike. There are big flames and little flames, flames of every color. Some people’s flames are so still they don’t even flicker in the wind, while others have wild flames that fill the air with sparks. Some foolish flames neither burn nor shed light, but others blaze with life so fiercely that you can’t look at them without blinking, and if you approach you shine in the fire.”

I’ve been reading about Galeano, one of the most celebrated writers of Latin America. But I’ve yet to read his books in full. One of these days, hopefully. 🙂

12 thoughts on “People and Flames

  1. Excelente pensamiento y la realidad y no real, es que no existen dos tipos de llamas iguales… Excelente, tengo que conseguirlo en español aunque domine el ingles. Él español, opino es más florido…😉😉😉

    Like

    1. I wish I can learn Spanish the soonest. They say that the original is always better. Something’s bound to get lost in translation. Thank you for the reblogs and the visits. Have a great day! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Indeed each person shines with his or her light and the flames that matters. No two person are same and so much of diversity and there so much in human existence and relationship in life and living. The color and the shades, the size and shape of thoughts and the ideas, are representation of flames…yes there are flames those never flicker and there are flames those blaze fiercely.

    Looking forward to hearing your review and perspective on Galeano’s writing.
    😀

    Like

    1. We all burn from within, and the flame varies from soul to soul.

      It’s good to hear from you again, Nihar. I wish I can find Galeano’s book around here soon. They are quite rare. But if I do, I will be sure to share my thoughts with you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The flame within and the soul searching that we keep doing and never easy to discover the path to salvation and the path to heavenly peace. Many times we get tarpped in the prism of the bright flames, the disguise and we are disturbed…
        I will also try to look for the book by Galeano’s…
        😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

