Solitude

image

Seven days a week I wish for moments of some reprieve
Of long walks down the beach near the house where I live
Listening to the gentle waves kissing my tired feet
I will count them the way I would my own heartbeat
Tonight I will utter that wish again while I stand outside
Under the stars shimmering from the sky, near the rhythm of the tide
Dimly aware I’m living a cycle of lost dreams and dashed hopes
Even the seagulls have a better chance of escaping this sad trope

2 thoughts on “Solitude

  1. There’s nothing like a good reprieve from the daily grind like a walk down the beach in solitude. Excellent piece.

    Like

Leave a Reply

