Cheers for a New Start

Just this last day and we’re going to see off 2014. New year, new possibilities. But does it mean a new life?

Maybe not. We can’t really renew life. It is a continuous journey. But 2015 will give us a new start. We can pretend to open another chapter of our story.

This year has been a rollercoaster experience. Mostly, I’ve enjoyed the ride. I can’t say if I want to go through it again though. Once is enough.

So what have I done for the last twelve months? Nothing much. I think my world revolved around football. And I followed the world news every single day. The demonisation of Russia and Putin has been my breakfast every morning. I also get to read dozens of books, falling in love with Leo Tolstoy and Pablo Neruda in the process.

And yes, I think I’ve fallen in love. But it was not the kind I’ve been dreaming of all my life. I’m pretty sure I can live without it. If it doesn’t last, it’s probably not worth it.

I also realized one thing. Sometimes, we don’t get rid of things simply because they’re getting old or because we want to make way for mew ones. Sometimes we have to let them go because they don’t fit in our lives anymore. They’ve lost their purpose.

To conclude, I had a fantastic year. I won’t trade it for anything, unless I can finally receive my Hogwarts letter. Daydreaming aside, I’m looking forward to another year ahead. Here’s to many more books to read, many more stories to write and many more knowledge to gain.

Cheers for a beautiful 2015! 🙂

image

One thought on “Cheers for a New Start

  1. Great reflections,great author and a poet whom l studied in college years.Believing in the first step when l start a journey always makes it possible and enjoyable.Hope you achieve all your goals in 2015.Happy and blessed one.Jalal

    Like

Leave a Reply

