The Fault in Our Stars: “A Review”

I suck at giving reviews. But I’ll try anyway.

I don’t normally write one, especially when it comes to books that I really like. But for this one, I’ll make an exception.

So, what do I think of John Green’s “The Fault in our Stars”?

Epic. Simply epic.

I understand that this is a heartbreaking story. Why, the heroine is dying of lung cancer. But it doesn’t have the heavy drama that wreaks havoc at your emotions, causing you to tear up at every page.

It is poignant, and sad. But it’s the kind of sad that makes you accept what couldn’t be changed and nudges you to face the inevitable.

Death is a cheat. It is cruel and merciless. With all my fascination to the morbid and morose thought of dying, I never did think of it the way Hazel does…maybe because I’m not in her shoe. But her uncomplicated and fearless treatment of her fate opened my eyes to the painful reality-what are we living for? Will we be remembered? Will we leave a mark, a spot or at least a smudge on this world?

I admire Hazel. She does not sugar-coat her battles. Her eccentric views about the world amuse me. And Augustus Waters! Oozing with charm and magnetism. Hotness overload with a wicked sense of humour.  Drool.

What I really find striking about this book? For the fear of spoiling everything, (I’m such a blabbermouth, mind you.) I’ll just skim the surface and leave the details for you to discover on your own.

I can’t seem to decide whether to laugh or cry. Just when my throat aches from holding back the tears, something will come up that will coax a smile out of my lips and then before I knew it, I’m trying so hard not to laugh out loud.

It’s a perfect blend of tragedy and comedy.

And yes, I simply love the book. Even if I’m only halfway through it. I don’t want to consume it right away. The story asks to be savoured. So I’m going to savour every moment. I’ll let you know when I’m done, though I might not recover from the grief right away.

Since I’m leaving you hanging here, I’ll give you my favourite quote from Mr. Waters himself.

“I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labour has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.”

So there. Who can resist a declaration like that?

PS: I realize that this doesn’t sound like a review. Well, I told you so. I suck at giving reviews. I’ll do better once I finish the book. I just have to write this one now to ease up the heaviness in my heart, and so I can finish the whole thing. Peace out.

2 thoughts on “The Fault in Our Stars: “A Review”

Leave a Reply

